Quill announces winners

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Quill Ceremony and Poetry Reading Slated for May 9

The Crowder Quill, a literary and art magazine of Crowder College, will host the annual awards ceremony with a campus- and community-wide poetry reading. The event will take place Thursday, May 9 at 7 p.m. in Elsie Plaster Community Center Auditorium on the campus of Crowder College in Neosho, Mo.

“This year’s ceremony and publication continues the 39-year tradition of our mission to encourage and showcase our area’s authors and artists,” said Latonia Bailey, Crowder Quill adviser since 1994.

The event includes the announcement of those whose entries were chosen to be published in the 2018 edition and awards presentations.  All published entrants will receive a certificate for gold, silver, bronze or honorable mention. Award placements will not be announced until the ceremony.

Afterwards, the magazine will be unveiled, and light refreshments will be served. The public is welcome to attend.

Hand-delivered Quill art entries are now available for return by arrangement. Entrants should email Lbailey@crowder.edu or call 417-455-5410.

A PowerPoint Presentation will showcase the winning photography and art entries during the ceremony. Remaining entries will not be displayed but will be available for pickup after the ceremony.

The Magazine Production class comprise the staff and judged the entries, designed the magazine, and host the ceremony. Current staff members are Bretton Cole, Neosho; Sam Hoover, Neosho; Maegen Lightner, Neosho; Glory Reitz, Neosho; Madelin Sanchez, Stotts City; Maggie Smith, Joplin; and staff adviser Latonia Bailey, Neosho.

Begun in 1980, the Quill is published each spring; the contest deadline is Feb. 1 each year, and divisions are high school, Crowder students, and community adults. The categories are fiction, nonfiction, poetry, 2D art, 3D art, digital art, color photography, and black and white photography. Entries are received online via the website www.CrowderQuill.com.

Winners of the contest, sorted by hometown, are as follows:

Anderson: Saige Bennett, Maya Dally, Ryan Herod, Autumn Hottinger, Ryan King, Tristen Miller, Makayla Stone, Leandra Toomoth, Henri Whitehead,  Steve Wilson;

Asbury: Kyndal  Channel;

Aurora: Andrew Benton;

Bartlett: Diamond Bogle;

Carl Junction: Adrian Bittner, Savannah Dillard, Stormi Norton;

Carthage: Madelynn Capps, Sydney Hartless, Sadie Maples, Koral Martin, Paul Wright;

Cassville: Lacey Elkins, Michelle Hilburn;

Diamond: Nicole Kost;

Eldorado Springs: Kristi May;

Exeter: Tyler Dallis;

Goodman: Allie Jackson, Theresa Walthall;

Jane: Sunshine Morris;

Joplin: Braden Bare, Mystelle Dueker, Hailey Gordon, Austyn Guthrie, Maxwell Heckman, Mallory Kienzle, Tyler Langford, Debra Lucas-Wolf, Lucy Martin, Billie Holladay Skelley, Lauren Spaulding, Olive Thompson, Ciera West;

Lamar: Autumn Shelton;

Monett: Dorice Lester Baty, John Baty, Jr., Chelsie Lamar, Alyson Massardo, Bri Murphy, Annie Smith;

Neosho: Nicole Ambrose, Latonia Bailey, Barry Charter, Bretton Cole, Madelin Cooper, Anna Davila, Christopher Doyle, Sam Hoover, Skylar Howe, Jordan Jones, Jaclyn Kidd, Issac Wallace Kinslow, Michelle Kleinbak, Ashley Lawson, Laimchia Lee, Maegen Lightner, John Mills, Esmeralda Ortega, Kirby Reardon, Glory Reitz, Hanna Selman, Shaenna White, Jacob Hall, Haixiao Qin;

Noel: Aidan Chamberlain, Alondra Hinojosa, Diana Salas, Ryann Rosenbohm;

Pierce City: Jennifer Conner;

Pineville: Madeleine Bell, Laney Brock;

Pittsburgh: Noel Glenn, Seth Potter;

Purdy: Kayla Branstetter, Bayleigh Schad, Alexandra Serrano;

Republic: Rhiannon Hyde;

Seneca: Skyler Smith, Samantha Thompson, Ragan Wilson;

Southwest City: DeAnnah Britton;

Stark City: Lilia Monroe;

Stotts City: Madelin Sanchez;

Webb City: Kaitlin Barnett, Alyssa Logan, Margarite Stever, Karli Washburn;


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s